Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Op-Ed Opinion Essay

We encourage you to let our readers know what's On Your Mind. Your OPINION is valuable to us. The only thing we ask is that it be CONstructive...not DEstructive. We want what BUILDS community, dialogue, and conversation that brings us closer to understanding each other and our varied perspectives. Please send your OPINIONS to vesta@sonic.net

Submit an ARTICLE

Sort by Date
2019-07-17Jul 17, 2019

The City of Santa Rosa’s Climate Action Sub-committee (CAS):mission is providing guidance and oversight for implementing and updating Santa Rosa’s Municipal and Community Climate Action Plans, with a goal to reduce local greenhouse gas emissions 

2019-04-29Apr 29, 2019

University tries very hard to get students involved with sustainability. With the way the campus is going with its efforts, there will be many other changes and programs to keep the school on a positive track towards a healthier campus for the environment. If all of the students on campus get involved with the practices that are being shown, there could be a positive and dramatic change in the community.

2019-04-29Apr 29, 2019

While money won't buy you happiness, a recent scandal revealed that cash will probably buy you a ticket to a fancy college. But will the students whose parents took advantage of the system be kicked out of college? One Sonoma State student argues that such students should be forced to reapply.

2019-04-29Apr 29, 2019

In 2018, Californians overwhelmingly voted, for the second time, to protect farm animals from cruel and inhumane conditions. Numerous pieces of legislation have been passed at both the state and local level to protect companion animals from mistreatment and discrimination. Now, a proposal to ban the sale and production of fur in the state is working its way through the legislative process.

2019-04-29Apr 29, 2019

Young adult years are extremely important for brain development, but teenagers who are mesmerized by social media won't grow into healthy adults. For the sake of the next generation, it is important to shield children and teenagers from excessive phone and social media use, a Sonoma State student writes.

2019-04-29Apr 29, 2019

Despite the historically high number of women running for president, female presidential candidates are being judged and criticized on the basis of "likability" rather than whether they are qualified to serve as president. With such high stakes, we need to change the way we talk about, one Sonoma State student writes.

2019-04-29Apr 29, 2019

While using a plastic drinking straw at a restaurant may seem like an insignificant act, the cost adds up quickly. Every day, 500 million straws are used in the United States. While some states are beginning to crack down on unnecessary straw use, more needs to be done. Corporations and individuals need to continue switching to reusable and biodegradable straws, one Sonoma State student argues.

2019-04-21Apr 21, 2019

Recently Donald Trump and the Republicans called for eliminating the "Death Tax", the estate tax on the extremely rich after they die. I don't understand their logic at all. When better to tax someone than when they're dead? 

2019-04-05Apr 5, 2019

Have you ever thought of preserving your family history? Do you wish you'd asked your parents more about their life? Do you want to leave a record of your life experiences for your family, grandchildren and great grandchildren? Do you want to meet an interesting group of men and women who have decided to do just that? Then you should consider joining our class.

2019-04-05Apr 5, 2019

Last year, China tightened its regulations on the kinds of recycled goods it accepts. As a result, a lot of our recycling will be turned away from recycling facilities and added to landfills. With that in mind, let's review our local recycling regulations!

2019-04-05Apr 5, 2019

A flood victim reflects on abruptly hearing that she would need to completely empty her home immediately. Now.

2019-07-17Jul 17, 2019

“WE” as Americans, own a most unique set of documents. These documents are the personal property of EVERY one of“US”! Together they tell The who, what, when, where, why, and how of our country. As Americans “We” own wealth of Documents. These Documents are among the most beautiful working Documents that the world has ever known, written by the Founders of our Nation , at its birth, to create a framework within which “We”, as a society could agree to go forth, as a Union. These Documents can be used by “Us” to fact check our Government at ALL times, so, familiarity with them is important, and useful. For example;  The constitution, in article 1, section 9, #8, tells “Us” that The President, or any official, may NOT accept , or receive, ANY Emolument, that is, ANY gift, of ANY kind, whatsoever from any foreign State or entity, without the consent of Congress...

2019-04-04Apr 4, 2019

On April 16, the Board of Supervisors will decide whether to direct Permit Sonoma to address the severe compatibility problems with cannabis cultivation in rural neighborhoods. In order to solve this contentious question, the supervisors need to acknowledge the fundamental problem.

2019-04-04Apr 4, 2019

It was refreshing to see newspaper items in March concerning Rep. Ilhan Omar and the nationwide dialogue she has started over basic justice issues in the Israeli-Palestine conflict that has gone on for over seven decades. However, the conservation in the national media missed a few crucial points.

2019-04-04Apr 4, 2019

Two new proposed gas stations in the county have raised concerns about the environmental impact of the stations.  

2019-07-01Jul 1, 2019

For many locals in our Northern California community, reading that we are in the midst of a devastating imbalance within our Pacific coastal intertidal zones will not come as a surprise. This is due to a chain of events spanning almost 200 years.  This story is one of ripples, spreading ever outward: one imbalance leads to another, and another. While a perfect solution is not clear, educating the public about the problem is crucial.

2019-06-27Jun 27, 2019

It happens to most of us at some point. You’re on your way to work, stressed because you hit ‘off’ instead of ‘snooze’ on your alarm, or you’re in a hurry to get home before the babysitter’s parents come to pick her up. Suddenly you hear a siren scream and lights flash in your rear-view mirror, causing your heart to sink. Attorney Amy Chapman offers some advice on how to stay out of trouble during a routine stop.

2019-06-27Jun 27, 2019

The prospect of reducing your ecological footprint can seem daunting when faced with a multitude of choices each day. Here are a few steps you can take to begin lowering your impact on our planet. 

2019-05-28May 28, 2019

For the past twenty-five years, educators have repeatedly set as their goal the creation of a “personalized” system of instruction that would radically improve our ability to educate our children. But most parents haven't explored what "personalized" education actually means, according to Hal Kwalwasser. A former administrator in the Los Angeles Unified School District urges parents to research new education models and become involved in their children's school district.

2019-05-08May 8, 2019

Local activists and elected leaders will gather for a town hall exploring the need for - and challenges facing - the Green New Deal, an ambitious proposal that would attempt to tackle the nation's most pressing problems - including climate change, income inequality and failing infrastructure - all at once.

2019-05-05May 5, 2019

My community work this past year is dedicated to two career firefighters: Charlie Rice, RIP March 29, 2018 and his widow, Shellie Rice, of Napa.  I was asked to help stop the invasion of 60+ Verizon 5G cell towers in the city of Napa, with one tower to be installed in front of the Rice’s home on Franklin Street. I soon discovered that the 5G roll over was also happening in the cities of Sonoma, Santa Rosa, Sebastopol & Petaluma. More recently, the telecom industry has headed for Marin County. They have already been installed in Sacramento.  

2019-04-30Apr 30, 2019

When bleeding can be controlled or stopped, it is baffling why so many die from the loss of it during tragedies such as the Sandy Hook shooting. While learning the skills needed to slow blood loss is not a solution for the acts of violent, radical individuals, knowledgable citizens could help reduce the casualties at such events with a little extra knowledge.  

Please support our sponsors:

Sonoma Retirement Community. Happy Living by Cogir.

Bring your family for FUN Festivities.

Census 2020 JOBS

CLICK on this AD to learn about JOBS for Census 2020

Harvest Fair Home Pages

CLICK on AD to BUY TICKETS and for INFO

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services

Visit Fine Tree Care WEBSITE for a List of our SERVICES - Testimonials and to request a FREE Estimate

LOCAL GUIDE to Cannabis Dispensaries and Delivery Services, Sonoma County & Beyond.

LOCAL GUIDE to Cannabis Dispensaries and Delivery Services, Sonoma County & Beyond.All dispensaries have verified their information.

Bookstores of Sonoma County - LOCAL GUIDE

Find a LOCALLY-OWNED Bookstore near you - CLICK HERE

http://online.flipbuilder.com/opcf/gqtx/#p=1

Your GUIDE to support locally-owned garden businesses and natural landscaping practices.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!

Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert Shops LOCAL Guide 2018

Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert LOCAL Shops Guide 2018