Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Sort by Date
2018-05-18May 18, 2018

Creative Sonoma announces recipients of Arts Education Innovation Grants totalling $88,000 to fund fifteen innovative arts education programs serving students in the County who may have limited access to arts training. 

2018-01-30Jan 30, 2018

I heard Professor Gregory Simon on KPFA radio talking about his book Flame and Fortune in the American West as I was evacuating to my sister’s in Petaluma due to smoke and encroaching fire near my home in Sonoma Valley.

2017-12-29Dec 29, 2017

Book groups proliferate so why not writing groups? That old beatnik, pre-hippie poetKenneth Rexroth said, “Against the ruin of the world, there is only one defense: the creative act.”

2017-12-29Dec 29, 2017

Pat Nolan, who first saw the light of day in Montreal in 1943, is the perpetrator of three novels and over a dozen poetry books. He’s lived in Monte Rio, in “silent cunning exile,” he says in his new collection, Exile in Paradise, for over 40 years.

2018-05-02May 2, 2018

On Friday, May 18th, Occidental Center for the Arts is proud to present an Evening with Daniel Ziblatt, Harvard Professor of Government and co-author of international bestseller,How Democracies Die.

2018-04-30Apr 30, 2018

Reese Witherspoon has a pretty good track record. She producedGone Girl andWild. Her last effort,Big Little Lies, garnered several Emmys. This TV  series was so successful that the second season has attracted the talents of no less a prestigious personage than Meryl Streep.

2018-03-30Mar 30, 2018

Prairie Home Companion meets Amateur Radio Hour in a series of live radio shows to be recorded at the historic Rio Theater in beautiful downtown Monte Rio.

2018-03-16Mar 16, 2018

Would you like to read a novel that is about a marriage going through a rough patch but that also functions a a quasi-cookbook and a botanical reference manual? Look no further than Not Quite Happily Ever After by local author,Heidi Freestone.

2018-03-05Mar 5, 2018

There is the classic idea of the garden as sanctuary — restorative, with paths to wander, nature to contemplate, butterflies and hummingbirds providing distraction as they fly among colorful flowers, the gentle sound of water, a sheltered, life-affirming place. My neighbor finds the seat by our tiny pond the perfect place to practice her daily meditation.

2018-03-02Mar 2, 2018

I heard Professor Gregory Simon on KPFA radio talking about his book Flame and Fortune in the American West as I was evacuating to my sister’s in Petaluma due to smoke and encroaching fire near my home in Sonoma Valley.

2018-02-05Feb 5, 2018

There are so many kinds of Love! Some, they say, are just included in the package when we are born – love for mother, for family, for food and breath and the joy that babes express!

2018-01-30Jan 30, 2018

Atul Gawande‘s book Being Mortal is on theNew York Times best seller list. I did not want to read it but a friend who is an M.D. gave it to me and I thought it had an important theme.

Please support our sponsors:

Cloverdale Performing Arts Center - True West

May 17*, 18, 19, 25, 6 @ 7:30pm
May 20 & 27 @ 2pm
Tickets: 707-894-3222
cloverdaleperformingarts.com/earnest
TICKETS *Pay-what-you-can preview on May 17 at 7:30 pm

BeeKind of Sebastopol
Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & BionX Bikes. Perfect for a SMART Train Ride!

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Sonoma County Bicycle Shops and Groups

Sonoma County Bike Shops and Groups. Find LOCALLY-OWNED Bicycle Shops for NEW, Used and Rental Bicycles as well as REPAIR. Look for a bike-riding group that suits your needs and style.


Please use the Gazette's Guide to find LOCALLY-OWNED Garden Businesses to support Sonoma County's environmental and economic health and vitality.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!

Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.