Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Sort by Date
2018-03-30Mar 30, 2018

Prairie Home Companion meets Amateur Radio Hour in a series of live radio shows to be recorded at the historic Rio Theater in beautiful downtown Monte Rio.

2017-10-26Oct 26, 2017

Unleash​ ​Your​ ​Creative​ ​Superpowers​ ​with​ ​National​ ​Novel​ ​Writing​ ​Month. One part writing boot camp, one part rollicking party. National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) celebrates its 19th year of encouraging creativity, education, and the power of the imagination through the largest writing event in the world.

 

2018-03-16Mar 16, 2018

Would you like to read a novel that is about a marriage going through a rough patch but that also functions a a quasi-cookbook and a botanical reference manual? Look no further than Not Quite Happily Ever After by local author,Heidi Freestone.

2018-03-05Mar 5, 2018

There is the classic idea of the garden as sanctuary — restorative, with paths to wander, nature to contemplate, butterflies and hummingbirds providing distraction as they fly among colorful flowers, the gentle sound of water, a sheltered, life-affirming place. My neighbor finds the seat by our tiny pond the perfect place to practice her daily meditation.

2018-03-02Mar 2, 2018

I heard Professor Gregory Simon on KPFA radio talking about his book Flame and Fortune in the American West as I was evacuating to my sister’s in Petaluma due to smoke and encroaching fire near my home in Sonoma Valley.

2018-02-05Feb 5, 2018

There are so many kinds of Love! Some, they say, are just included in the package when we are born – love for mother, for family, for food and breath and the joy that babes express!

2018-01-30Jan 30, 2018

Atul Gawande‘s book Being Mortal is on theNew York Times best seller list. I did not want to read it but a friend who is an M.D. gave it to me and I thought it had an important theme.

2018-01-30Jan 30, 2018

I heard Professor Gregory Simon on KPFA radio talking about his book Flame and Fortune in the American West as I was evacuating to my sister’s in Petaluma due to smoke and encroaching fire near my home in Sonoma Valley.

2017-12-29Dec 29, 2017

Book groups proliferate so why not writing groups? That old beatnik, pre-hippie poetKenneth Rexroth said, “Against the ruin of the world, there is only one defense: the creative act.”

2017-12-29Dec 29, 2017

Pat Nolan, who first saw the light of day in Montreal in 1943, is the perpetrator of three novels and over a dozen poetry books. He’s lived in Monte Rio, in “silent cunning exile,” he says in his new collection, Exile in Paradise, for over 40 years.

Please support our sponsors:

Lend a Hand day in Sebastopol
Nor Cal Fire Lawyers

 

 

BeeKind of Sebastopol
Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & BionX Bikes. Perfect for a SMART Train Ride!

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!

Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services

Please use the Gazette's Guide to find LOCALLY-OWNED Garden Businesses to support Sonoma County's environmental and economic health and vitality.