Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Op-Ed Opinion Essay

We encourage you to let our readers know what's On Your Mind. Your OPINION is valuable to us. The only thing we ask is that it be CONstructive...not DEstructive. We want what BUILDS community, dialogue, and conversation that brings us closer to understanding each other and our varied perspectives. Please send your OPINIONS to vesta@sonic.net

Sort by Date
2017-05-24May 24, 2017

Our beloved coastline here in Sonoma and Mendocino Counties suddenly finds itself in the crosshairs of the Trump Administration’s offshore drilling scheme, which is now even targeting our fragile National Marine Sanctuary.

2017-03-29Mar 29, 2017

Democracy sometimes requires practical –if not always ideal—choices. To all those Bernie supporters who couldn’t bear voting for Hillary, we are now living with the consequences of their decision not to support her.

2017-05-22May 22, 2017

Last November Save Our Sonoma Roads supported Measure L, which increased the Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) in unincorporated Sonoma County from 9 percent to 12 percent. It is estimated to increase annual revenue by $5 million. The ballot question explained that the purpose of the tax increase was “to address the impacts of tourists by investing in roads, emergency response,” and other tourism-related impacts. Over 68 percent of county voters approved the measure.

2017-05-22May 22, 2017

My close friend passed away last weekend, following a diagnosis with terminal bone cancer. As his durable power of attorney for medical care, I worked with friends, family, caregivers, and Memorial Hospice to ensure that his medical needs were addressed as he suffered debilitating pain and the mental impacts of high dose pain management medication. Twenty-four hour care was required during the last week of his life.

 

2017-05-18May 18, 2017

My son is missing. He had a job with a promising future, a truck, many friends. Now he has nothing. He is a heroin addict. I am terrified, and I want to warn parents of the dangers of Oxycontin. It is headed your way via a huge marketing campaign. Please read the story and tell as many people as you can.

2017-05-09May 9, 2017

Last November Save Our Sonoma Roads supported Measure L, which increased the Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) in unincorporated Sonoma County from 9 percent to 12 percent. It is estimated to increase annual revenue by $5 million. The ballot question explained that the purpose of the tax increase was “to address the impacts of tourists by investing in roads, emergency response,” and other tourism-related impacts. Over 68 percent of county voters approved the measure.

2017-05-06May 6, 2017

Our beloved coastline here in Sonoma and Mendocino Counties suddenly finds itself in the crosshairs of the Trump Administration’s offshore drilling scheme, which is now even targeting our fragile National Marine Sanctuary. Recently, on April 28, President Trump signed the “America First Offshore Energy Executive Order” which radically reframes offshore petroleum plans for all U.S. federal waters, including those off of the Pacific Coast.

 

2017-04-20Apr 20, 2017

Humans are busy trying to take over other populations. It includes the animal kingdom.

2017-04-02Apr 2, 2017
2017-03-29Mar 29, 2017

It’s happening all around. People in practically every state are standing up to the Trump mania of deporting millions of undocumented immigrants, mostly from Mexico and Central America, but not solely, and supporting their civil and human rights. These are counties and cities and they number into the hundreds.

Please support our sponsors:

Sonoma County Yoga Festival July 8 & 9, 2017

WIN FREE TICKETS to the YOGA FESTIVAL.  Sign in to the Gazette Website and make a comment on ANY of our online ARTICLES and "Like us on Facebook"  

Cotati Accordion Festival 2017

WIN FREE TICKETS TO THE ACCORDION FESTIVAL.  Sign in to the Gazette Website and make a comment on ANY of our online ARTICLES and "Like us on Face book"

Carlisle Construction Sonoma County
Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & BionX Bikes. 

BeeKind of Sebastopol
Flip the pages of the Sonoma County Gazette June 2017 print edition

CLICK on this AD to go to our FLIP the Pages version of the Current PRINT Editon on Newsstands now. 

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.