Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu
From our sponsors:

Op-Ed Opinion Essay

We encourage you to let our readers know what's On Your Mind. Your OPINION is valuable to us. The only thing we ask is that it be CONstructive...not DEstructive. We want what BUILDS community, dialogue, and conversation that brings us closer to understanding each other and our varied perspectives. Please send your OPINIONS to vesta@sonic.net

Sort by Date
2017-08-02Aug 2, 2017

Nearly three weeks has elapsed since, one by one, Administration Drive Safe Parking participants were approached by the program manager and a monitor and handed sheets of paper on the evening of June 20. “Good!”, I thought, from the front seat of my car, several rows away, “They’re finally enforcing the designated smoking area and dog leashing rules.”

2017-04-25Apr 25, 2017

Congressman Jeff Denham’s legislation (HR 597- Lytton Rancheria Homelands Act of 2017- formerly Rep. Jared Huffman’s bill HR 2538) would move the 500 acres purchased by the Lytton Rancheria at the western edge of Windsor, CA into federal trust, exempting the land from local zoning and planning regulations.

2017-04-25Apr 25, 2017

This has been a thoughtful time for me. With another death in the homeless community and terrible weather, my thoughts have turned to what more we can do to improve life for homeless folks.

2017-04-24Apr 24, 2017

On March 24, members of the Community Action Coalition served a Notice of By Intention to recall Sheriff Steve Freitas from office. Just hours later the sheriff announced that he would not seek re-election in 2018.

2017-04-20Apr 20, 2017

Humans are busy trying to take over other populations. It includes the animal kingdom.

2017-04-02Apr 2, 2017
2017-03-29Mar 29, 2017

It’s happening all around. People in practically every state are standing up to the Trump mania of deporting millions of undocumented immigrants, mostly from Mexico and Central America, but not solely, and supporting their civil and human rights. These are counties and cities and they number into the hundreds.

2017-03-29Mar 29, 2017

Democracy sometimes requires practical –if not always ideal—choices. To all those Bernie supporters who couldn’t bear voting for Hillary, we are now living with the consequences of their decision not to support her.

2017-06-28Jun 28, 2017

The Mission Statement of the Permit and Resource Management Department starts with “…serve the people of Sonoma County by providing a customer-focused process for the orderly development of real property” and ends with “develop and maintain standards that protect the health and safety of the public.”  It’s business first. Or, as PRMD’s new moniker “Permit Sonoma” suggests, permits first.

2017-06-28Jun 28, 2017

After more than 25 years of the Sonoma County Water Agency playing games around Occidental sewage disposal, the newest insult emerges. Wrapped in moral bankruptcy, the otherwise enjoyable and beautiful town seems to have no problem acting like a selfish prima donna with no need to request, but rather just impose their raw sewage unnecessarily on the rest of us with impunity.

2017-05-24May 24, 2017

Our beloved coastline here in Sonoma and Mendocino Counties suddenly finds itself in the crosshairs of the Trump Administration’s offshore drilling scheme, which is now even targeting our fragile National Marine Sanctuary.

2017-05-22May 22, 2017

Last November Save Our Sonoma Roads supported Measure L, which increased the Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) in unincorporated Sonoma County from 9 percent to 12 percent. It is estimated to increase annual revenue by $5 million. The ballot question explained that the purpose of the tax increase was “to address the impacts of tourists by investing in roads, emergency response,” and other tourism-related impacts. Over 68 percent of county voters approved the measure.

2017-05-22May 22, 2017

My close friend passed away last weekend, following a diagnosis with terminal bone cancer. As his durable power of attorney for medical care, I worked with friends, family, caregivers, and Memorial Hospice to ensure that his medical needs were addressed as he suffered debilitating pain and the mental impacts of high dose pain management medication. Twenty-four hour care was required during the last week of his life.

 

2017-05-18May 18, 2017

My son is missing. He had a job with a promising future, a truck, many friends. Now he has nothing. He is a heroin addict. I am terrified, and I want to warn parents of the dangers of Oxycontin. It is headed your way via a huge marketing campaign. Please read the story and tell as many people as you can.

2017-05-09May 9, 2017

Last November Save Our Sonoma Roads supported Measure L, which increased the Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) in unincorporated Sonoma County from 9 percent to 12 percent. It is estimated to increase annual revenue by $5 million. The ballot question explained that the purpose of the tax increase was “to address the impacts of tourists by investing in roads, emergency response,” and other tourism-related impacts. Over 68 percent of county voters approved the measure.

2017-05-06May 6, 2017

Our beloved coastline here in Sonoma and Mendocino Counties suddenly finds itself in the crosshairs of the Trump Administration’s offshore drilling scheme, which is now even targeting our fragile National Marine Sanctuary. Recently, on April 28, President Trump signed the “America First Offshore Energy Executive Order” which radically reframes offshore petroleum plans for all U.S. federal waters, including those off of the Pacific Coast.

 

Please support our sponsors:

Petaluma Fermentation Festival Sept 2 2017

WIN FREE TICKETS TO THE FERMENTATION FESTIVAL.  Sign in to the Gazette Website and make a comment on ANY of our online ARTICLES and "Like us on Face book" Must email Vesta@sonic.net once the above has been completed to claim Tickets. 

BeeKind of Sebastopol
Cotati Accordion Festival 2017

WIN FREE TICKETS TO THE ACCORDION FESTIVAL.  Sign in to the Gazette Website and make a comment on ANY of our online ARTICLES and "Like us on Face book" Must email Vesta@sonic.net once the above has been completed to claim Tickets. 

 

Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & BionX Bikes. Perfect for a SMART Train Ride!

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.