Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Op-Ed Opinion Essay

We encourage you to let our readers know what's On Your Mind. Your OPINION is valuable to us. The only thing we ask is that it be CONstructive...not DEstructive. We want what BUILDS community, dialogue, and conversation that brings us closer to understanding each other and our varied perspectives. Please send your OPINIONS to vesta@sonic.net

Sort by Date
2017-12-06Dec 6, 2017

I write this as a concerned constituent of the marijuana community in Sonoma County. Having worked with several industry leaders and businesses, I am deeply concerned about the well-being of Sonoma County’s marijuana industry and understand the importance of protecting small-scale farmers. The medical-marijuana industry may soon lose its protection from federal recourse by December 8th if Congress has not approved a new budget including the Rohrabacher-Farr Amendment.

2017-08-30Aug 30, 2017

Donald J. Trump, a man who has Unleashed havoc in this country since the Unbelievable election in 2016, has shown himself to be a most UnPresidential President. I say Unbelievable because the majority of Americans did NOT vote for him, but he won because the very Unpopular and Undemocratic Electoral College chose him to be the President of the U.S. (Deja Vous of Gore v Bush).

2017-08-29Aug 29, 2017

Racist Roots Rant - A poem by Nina Tepedino

2017-08-29Aug 29, 2017

Let's call this musings from the dark side. I'm a News Junkie I watch MSNBC CNN sometimes I'll even hold my nose and listen to Fox just assure myself they are still peddling the same old snake oil.

2017-08-19Aug 19, 2017

One week ago, as Nazis and white supremacists marched in Charlottesville, Virginia, I was in the Cloverdale Performing Arts Center watching a production of Larry Shue’s The Foreigner. It’s an award-winning, two-act comedy first produced in 1984 that’s become a staple of community theatre. Having seen the show, I knew full well where it would go in Act II and yet I found my stomach-churning at the sight of hooded and robed Klansmen filling the stage. At that moment, the play and its humor completely evaporated for me as images of what had happened earlier in our country filled my mind. 

2017-08-02Aug 2, 2017

Nearly three weeks has elapsed since, one by one, Administration Drive Safe Parking participants were approached by the program manager and a monitor and handed sheets of paper on the evening of June 20. “Good!”, I thought, from the front seat of my car, several rows away, “They’re finally enforcing the designated smoking area and dog leashing rules.”

2017-08-01Aug 1, 2017

If you only read the mainstream press in Sonoma County, you may think that Sheriff Steve Freitas announced his August 1st resignation out of the blue. But a closer look at the facts reveals a much different story.

2017-06-28Jun 28, 2017

The Mission Statement of the Permit and Resource Management Department starts with “…serve the people of Sonoma County by providing a customer-focused process for the orderly development of real property” and ends with “develop and maintain standards that protect the health and safety of the public.”  It’s business first. Or, as PRMD’s new moniker “Permit Sonoma” suggests, permits first.

2017-06-28Jun 28, 2017

After more than 25 years of the Sonoma County Water Agency playing games around Occidental sewage disposal, the newest insult emerges. Wrapped in moral bankruptcy, the otherwise enjoyable and beautiful town seems to have no problem acting like a selfish prima donna with no need to request, but rather just impose their raw sewage unnecessarily on the rest of us with impunity.

2017-11-30Nov 30, 2017

I’m a “MeToo,” surviving shaming and blaming cycles, suicidal depression, fear of telling, PTSDs. Recovery required years of in-depth psychological counsel (ShadowWork), emotional release bodywork, spiritual healing. The past 30 years, I’ve been helping deliver others from their injurious histories, towards fulfilling, response-able lifestyles –and educating about the roots of sexual predation in self-sabotaging societal mores.

2017-11-21Nov 21, 2017

This is a personal account of the Cannabis Advisory Board Meeting held at the Permit Resource Management Department(PRMD) in Santa Rosa on Wednesday 9/27/17. I was delayed in writing this because of the fire, but I believe my personal perspective is of value to readers.

 

2017-11-21Nov 21, 2017

The first U.S. Government-funded study investigating prenatal neurological damage from fluoride, Prenatal Fluoride Exposure and Cognitive Outcomes in Children at 4 and 6–12 Years of Age in Mexico, finds that each 0.5 part per million (ppm) increase in a pregnant woman’s urine fluoride levels reduced her child’s IQ by 2.5 - 3 points.*

2017-09-27Sep 27, 2017

As a law enforcement officer, I always wince when I hear of an officer-involved shooting. I hoped and prayed that this was some insane incident that would exonerate the officer involved.

2017-09-01Sep 1, 2017

...she thinks the sky is falling! Is the sky falling? Once again, Perception fights with Reality, and, for some,is reality. There’s a lot of smoke and it’s getting harder and harder to see where the flames are and what they really mean.

2017-08-31Aug 31, 2017

There’s this thing called destiny. Some of us believe in it and some do not. Through a Facebook post last Sunday, I learned of a life lost.The Press Democrat ranan article about a man standing in the middle of River Road at 4 a.m., who was struck first by a Pepsi semi truck and then by a second car. He died.

2017-08-31Aug 31, 2017

My Position on CANNABIS is clear - we need a Sheriff who Reflects our Community's Values.

2017-08-31Aug 31, 2017

Single payer, universal healthcare, socialized medicine, call it what you like. The fact is that the United States is the only industrialized nation on earth without a universal healthcare system.

Please support our sponsors:

Cutter Law

The Gazette's 15th Annual Guide to encourage readers to support Locally-Owned Businesses

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!

Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.