Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Sort by Date
2018-02-05Feb 5, 2018

There are so many kinds of Love! Some, they say, are just included in the package when we are born – love for mother, for family, for food and breath and the joy that babes express!

2017-09-01Sep 1, 2017

Bill McCausland, the author of Now It’s Inescapable, is somewhat of an enigma. Generally, it has been conceded that the highest rate of addiction amongst professionals lies with those involved with the medical profession. Why? Access. The author has treated many addicted physicians in his practice and this his latest novel deals with exactly that situation.

2018-01-30Jan 30, 2018

Atul Gawande‘s book Being Mortal is on theNew York Times best seller list. I did not want to read it but a friend who is an M.D. gave it to me and I thought it had an important theme.

2018-01-30Jan 30, 2018

I heard Professor Gregory Simon on KPFA radio talking about his book Flame and Fortune in the American West as I was evacuating to my sister’s in Petaluma due to smoke and encroaching fire near my home in Sonoma Valley.

2017-12-29Dec 29, 2017

Book groups proliferate so why not writing groups? That old beatnik, pre-hippie poetKenneth Rexroth said, “Against the ruin of the world, there is only one defense: the creative act.”

2017-12-29Dec 29, 2017

Pat Nolan, who first saw the light of day in Montreal in 1943, is the perpetrator of three novels and over a dozen poetry books. He’s lived in Monte Rio, in “silent cunning exile,” he says in his new collection, Exile in Paradise, for over 40 years.

2017-10-26Oct 26, 2017

Unleash​ ​Your​ ​Creative​ ​Superpowers​ ​with​ ​National​ ​Novel​ ​Writing​ ​Month. One part writing boot camp, one part rollicking party. National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) celebrates its 19th year of encouraging creativity, education, and the power of the imagination through the largest writing event in the world.

 

2017-10-23Oct 23, 2017

When Forestville was founded in the 1800’s it was described as a Bohemian mecca for writers and artists. A guidebook sketch would indicate that it is located at the confluence of the Russian River, Mark West Creek and the Laguna de Santa Rosa nestled amongst apple orchards and grape vineyards and adjacent to the towering redwoods and the mighty Pacific to the west.

2017-09-27Sep 27, 2017

It is fairly obvious even to the casual observer that coastal Sonoma County has a certain cachet. The denizens of west county are a motley crew.

2017-09-27Sep 27, 2017

Delight yourself in this intriguing mix of stories from Sonoma County, California. Take in glimpses of little-known history: the Sebastopol temple that became a touchstone for the Japanese community here before and after World War II; the pioneering women's rights advocate who fought the forced retirement at age 32 of airline stewardesses; the county's lone lesbian bar in the early 1980s; and the daring race car driver and aviator who made the nation's first airmail flight here in 1911.

Please support our sponsors:

Nor Cal Fire Lawyers

Community Meetings are scheduled for:
Calistoga: Feb 5 & 25,
Napa: Feb 5 & 20
Clearlake: Feb 8
Ukiah: Feb 13
http://www.norcalfirelawyers.com/newsandevents/

 


ORDER BEES NOW - Take a CLASS to Learn how to raise bees in your garden!

Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & BionX Bikes. Perfect for a SMART Train Ride!

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!

Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.